NMC Awards Scholarship to Local Students

NMC Awards Scholarship to Local Students

The New Mexico Consortium (NMC) is proud to announce we have sponsored two J. Robert Oppenheimer scholarships of $3,000 each, which have been awarded to Los Alamos High School seniors Sarah Crotzer and Zoe Dukeminier. Both Sarah and Zoe are students who show exceptional promise in future contributions, and both plan to attend a school of higher education in the state of New Mexico.

J. Robert Oppenheimer was a gifted theoretical physicist who came to Los Alamos in the spring of 1942 to work on the wartime atomic bomb project. In 1943 he became the director of the national lab and was known for his skillful leadership. After the war he devoted his life to the goal of devising an internationally acceptable plan for world-wide control of nuclear energy. He is known for his exceptional achievements, scientific knowledge, and personality. The J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Committee (JROMC) is dedicated to honoring the memory of Oppenheimer and his significant contributions to the world. In addition to the scholarship program for high school seniors, the JROMC also sponsors the annual Oppenheimer Memorial Lecture.

The J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Committee announced the winners of the 2020 scholarship to Northern New Mexico high school seniors last week. The JROMC scholarships have been given out since 1984, and to date have awarded a total of 225 scholarships totaling over $600,000 over the years.

The J. Robert Oppenheimer scholarship is a merit based scholarship is given to high school seniors at Los Alamos High School, Pojoaque Valley High School, Santa Fe and Capitol High Schools. This year the student winners are awarded this scholarship due to outstanding promise in mathematical sciences, science and medicine, contributions to society, outstanding academic achievements, arts and sciences, classical music, teaching at the K-12 level, and exceptional promise of future contributions.

A list of all J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Scholarships can be found at: https://losalamosreporter.com/2020/05/16/j-robert-oppenheimer-memorial-committee-2020-scholarship-winners-announced/

Featured image of J. Robert Oppenheimer. First photo of scholarship winner Sarah Crotzer, and second photo of scholarship winner Zoe Dukeminier


Article by Carrie Talus